Home > Christianity, Jesus, Quakers > What Can Quakers Offer?

What Can Quakers Offer?

Last week I had the opportunity to spend time with Dan Kimball, author of They Like Jesus but Not the Church. His message for the group of 16-25 year old Quakers at Summit 2010 was to be bold in sharing why they had chosen Jesus, and yet to not equate boldness with brashness, but rather love.

It was a message that the Friends church needed to hear – we often get stuck in the “you do your thing and I’ll do mine” rut, which usually means the great message of the Quaker church is not shared with others. The Quaker movement began and was sustained by people who shared with the world why their message was one worth hearing and living out.

In his book, Kimball tells stories of the emerging generation’s disdain with the church, but their love for Jesus. It does not need to be said, but I’ll say it anyway – if people look at the church and do not see Jesus, then something is wrong! In his last chapter, Kimball gives a list of those things this rising generation would like to see in a church if they were to be drawn into its fold. Here is the list:

1. I wish the church were not just a sermon or a lecture but a discussion.

2. I wish the church would respect my intelligence.

3. I wish the church weren’t about the church building.

4. I wish the church were less programmed and allowed more time to think and pray.

5. I wish the church were a loving place.

6. I wish the church cared for the poor and for the environment.

7. I wish the church taught more about Jesus.

I’m not sure what comes to mind when you see this list, but what I see is that the Quaker church offers several of these things this generation is looking for. Is this not good news? Is this not worth sharing?

Over the next week I’ll focus on those I feel are particular to the Quaker church. Until then, which of these do you feel the Quaker church does well? Which do we not do well?

And if you want to think/read more about what other Quakers are saying about this, go here.

Categories: Christianity, Jesus, Quakers
  1. Rod Pharris
    January 5, 2011 at 8:06 PM

    Amen X infinity!

  1. October 26, 2011 at 4:28 PM

Leave a Reply

